The Wilmington author’s latest book explores a post-apocalyptic America

Wilmington author Emily Colin’s new book “Storm of the Seven Sins” completes her trilogy of dystopian epic books for young adults.

Wilmington author Emily Colin brings her dystopian young adult epic to a close in “Storm of the Seven Sins,” the third book in her trilogy.

Fans of “The Hunger Games” and “Divergent” should be thoroughly entertained.

In ‘Sword of the Seven Sins’ we met Eva and Ari, two star-crossed lovers in the ruins of a post-apocalyptic America.

Eva had been the first recruit to the Bellators, the elite guard of the Commonwealth of Ashes, a totalitarian commune. Ari had been her trainer. It was strange that the Commonwealth – which normally treats women like Gilead – would allow a woman to become a warrior. Readers eventually learn why: Eva, it turns out, is a shapeshifter. Under the right circumstances, she can transform into a wolf, a panther, a falcon or a sea creature.

Ultimately, Eva and Ari escape from the Commonwealth. In the eventful sequel, ‘Siege of the Seven Sins’, they discover that there is a resistance in the hinterland, the Brotherhood. There are in fact many shapeshifters, or skuma, although most can only transform into one other beast.

She also discovers that she needs an acquaintance, a human being with whom she will have a psychic bond, to control her powers.

At the opening of ‘Storm’ a bloody battle has just taken place. Poor Eva has had a “Luke, I am your father” moment and learned that her mother, Cordelia, is still alive and being held by the Commonwealth. And the Executor, the sinister mastermind of the Commonwealth, has just escaped.

After much resistance from the skuma community, Ari is now an acquaintance of Eva. But just because you can read each other’s minds doesn’t mean love is easy.

Eva is now determined to overthrow the Commonwealth and save her mother. However, to unite the Houses of Skuma, it seems she will have to marry Sebastian, a young Skuma lord full of himself. Ari doesn’t like that very much.

Ari also hates the new society where skumas tend to rule over mere mortals. He feels that Eva is becoming more involved in Skuma society.

Meanwhile, mages loyal to the Commonwealth devise new plots against the Brotherhood.

Colin, who wrote the adult novels “The Memory Thief” and “The Dream Keeper’s Daughter,” knows what she’s doing. She has extensive knowledge of martial arts and is especially skilled in fight scenes.

The elaboration of her Nasty and Brutish New World also continues to intrigue.

In short, this is a world thrown back to the High Middle Ages or perhaps the early Renaissance. Candles illuminate the palace halls and horses are normally the fastest mode of transportation (unless you can switch to falcon mode).

However, some warriors have firearms and bullets, although everyone seems to prefer swords and daggers.

Colin faces one challenge with her third novel: she has now built up a complicated backstory and a cast list at least as long as Tolkien’s for ‘Lord of the Rings’.

Readers may need to start over with ‘Sword’ and ‘Siege’ before moving on to ‘Storm’. If they can distinguish Kilian, Karsten and Kennett, they find recklessness and romance.

Book review

Storm of the Seven Sins

By Emily Colin

Black Orchid Books, $14.99

This article originally appeared on Wilmington StarNews: Emily Colin’s “Sword of the Seven Sins” Concludes Epic Trilogy

Leave a Comment